Mad Ox Bakery

Is there anything more heavenly than homemade bread? The smell, the touch, the taste of sweet, flaky crust that melts in your mouth…agh, I’m going into a carb coma just thinking about it.

image-10

My divine intervention took place recently at Mad Ox Bakery (215 W. Broadway).

993520_388411527941561_506556664_n

Instead of my usual ramblings, this post will consist mostly of photos as my words couldn’t and wouldn’t do the food justice. If you’d like to read legit reviews, try here and here.

If you prefer my musings and closeups of bread, stay right where you are.

So, Mad Ox Bakery. The whole fam damily was there. And we were hangry.

(Hangry: hungry and angry, especially when the anger is induced by the hunger. Looks a little something like this:)

image-12

The hubs ordered the special. A BBQ chicken sandwich on his choice of bread (croissant) and chips for $4.99.

IMG_0316

For moi: a stuffed croissant: spinach, mushroom and cheese for $3.99.

image-13

EXTREME CLOSE UP, ala Wayne’s World

For the sweet tooth: two donuts, straight up, with a milk.

IMG_0315

No homemade bread for the babe. She’s still on a steady diet of homemade milk.

photo-203

Who me?

The bill came in under $15, which I thought was super reasonable.
The service was top-notch. Kind. Attentive. Patient with indecisive three-year-olds.
The food hit the spot. We came hangry. We left full and happy.

I’d pass on: the Red Velvet donut…It was good but I couldn’t taste the Red Velvetness.
I’d recommend: the lunch special. Mr. Hangry’s sandwich was a great deal and delicious.
Next time I go: I’m trying the cinnamon roll I’ve heard so much about.

image-8

Been there? Done that? Do tell. I’d love to hear your thoughts in the comments.

About councilbluffsiowa

I'm a southwest Iowa girl tired of Council-tucky references. After living in Council Bluffs for 5 years, it's time to show and tell the good that goes on in CB, as experienced by yours truly, a 29-year-old wife, mom and blogger. Here goes.
This entry was posted in food, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mad Ox Bakery

  1. I’ve been telling everyone I know about Mad Ox. It is crazy good food. Also, next time you need a fancy cake, try them.

  2. Pingback: 5 Things Council Bluffs needs | The Council Bluffs blog

Leave a Reply

